Daily Prompt: Trick or Treat – The Light of Amida Pumpkin

This photo is part of WordPress’ Daily Prompt: Trick or Treat.

Light Of Amida Pumpkin by Seas Reflecting Starlight

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays. Yet pumpkin carving is an art that I really should dabble in more often. It’s lots of fun, and with the right tools, not too difficult.

I picked this pumpkin at a local farm (yes there are pumpkin farms in Hawai’i). The weather was perfect, and it was fun to stroll through the rows of sunflowers, corn, green beans, and pumpkins. A friend and I each carved our own pumpkin. I was surprised at how easily the tools from the pumpkin carving kit sliced through the pumpkin – much easier than the knives I used to use growing up. It makes me want to create an even more intricate design for next year.

How did I get inspiration for an Amida Buddha pumpkin?  It just popped into my head.  Hardly traditional Halloween decor.  But just as Jack-o-lanterns light pathways, the Buddha also illuminates a path.  On this night celebrating the connection between this world and the next, it is a reminder that not everything on the other side is scary.

Happy Halloween everyone!

~~~

table lamps and more

Available at my Inner Bodhisattva Zazzle store.

Also check out my limited time art FREE giveaway and sale!

What do you think?

