Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV – Red & White Origami Swallows

This photo is (a belated) part of WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV – my entries for other weeks can be found here.

Red and White Origami Swallows by Seas Reflecting Starlight

Thousands of origami paper birds soar above my head, white and red.  They lift my eyes upwards towards the cascading ceiling.  So simple, and yet so elegant.  I can’t help but smile.  I enjoy origami, and started learning it when I was 9.  Although I can make cranes in my sleep, I haven’t ever made anything quite like these elegant birds.  Generally the instructions I’ve found to make origami swallows haven’t quite been this variation, but that goes to show the diversity within origami.  Everyone has their own style.

This illustrated guide is probably the closest to recreating the swallows in my photo.  I also came across a video version of a different model (in Japanese, but you can follow along easily even if you can’t speak Japanese):

Happy folding!

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV – Red & White Origami Swallows

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV – Red & White Origami Swallows (seasreflectingstarlight.com) […]

What do you think?

