Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique – Red Panda

This photo is part of WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique – my entries for other weeks can be found here.
Cheerful Red Panda

Red Pandas (also known as Firefox) live in the Himalayas and southwest China.  It is a small nocturnal omnivore that primarily eats bamboo, and likes to sleep in the trees.  They are threatened by deforestation and poaching.

In addition to being extremely cute, Red Pandas are also quite unique animals.  Although called a “panda” it is not related to the giant pandas.  They also are not related to foxes, although this nickname at least makes more since because of the visual similarities.  Rather, they are the only animal in their family.  This genetic uniqueness, along with their stunning unique colorings, is why I decided to feature Red Pandas in this week’s challenge.

This photo was taken at the Chengdu Panda Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding in Chengdu, Sichuan, China.  The sanctuary holds multiple giant pandas, along with a few cute little red pandas, the later stealing my heart.  I was surprised that my sentiments weren’t shared by many of the Chinese people that I talked to.  Since Sichuan is known for its giant pandas, and the red pandas are associated with Yunnan (the province immediately south), I suspect that the smaller crowds around the red pandas was a reflection of local pride in the giant pandas next door.  People can be funny that way.  Regardless, I had great fun watching the little red pandas romp around and play with each other.

~~

laptop bags and more

Available at my Glimmering Glade Zazzle store.

~~

A few shout-outs to some other rather Unique entries that I liked:

  • sherrygaley shares an unusual photo of a manatee drinking a stream of falling water.
  • rosannefreed shares a unique plant, a unique person, a unique food, and a unique place. I’ll have to try to find some Fiddleheads sometime.
  • retireediary shows unique images from his travels all over the world, only one of which (the Birds’s Nest) I’ve seen myself (although I’ve seen the Terracotta Army I’ve never seen any of the soldiers with the original colors still intact).
  • takingtotheopenroad shares a photo of the last member of a now extinct species.
  • jamiehardisty shares multiple unique aspects of one of my favorite countries: Japan.
  • mylifeafterglow also focuses on the uniqueness of Japan, but focuses on the natural and historical/cultural elements.
  • adayinthelifeofjennay includes multiple photos, my favorites being the flowers, the leaf, the clouds, and the bird.
  • suellewellyn2011 shares one of the most unusual sandcastles I’ve seen, along with some uniquely structured coral.
6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique – Red Panda

  1. Peggy Tee says:

    Thanks for the shoutout! Love red pandas, they are so cute and incredibly endangered – I hope they don’t go the way of poor old Lonesome George!

  2. Looks like one of my most popular entries so far – the power of cute red pandas!

  3. Jennay says:

    Love red pandas…never seen one in person, but would love to!! Thanks for the shoutout!! =)

What do you think?

